Part-Time Grant

Who may apply: Part-time, degree-seeking undergraduates and students dually enrolled in a Maryland high school and an institution of higher education.

How to apply: Part-time undergraduates must complete and file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) online  at or submit the Maryland State Financial Aid Application (MSFAA) online through MDCAPS for any applicant who is ineligible to receive federal aid but is eligible for in-state tuition by March 1, 2021. The 2021-2022 MSFAA is now available through your MDCAPS student account at​​

Dually enrolled students must contact the financial aid office of the institution you will attend to determine eligibility to apply.

When to apply: It is suggested that you file your FAFSA as soon after October 1 as is possible. Contact the financial aid office of the institution you will attend for additional deadlines.

Eligible majors: All majors are eligible.


You and your parents (if you are a dependent student) must be Maryland residents. You must enroll at a two-year or four-year Maryland college or university as a part-time (3-11 credits per semester), degree-seeking undergraduate student. You must demonstrate financial need.

Recipients are selected by the institution.


Eligibility for a Part-Time Grant is based on student financial need, as determined by the FAFSA.


The minimum Part-Time Grant award is $200, and the maximum award is $2,000. Funds may not be available to award all eligible students.


To renew your award, you must maintain satisfactory academic progress at the college you attend and file the FAFSA each year. It is suggested that you file the FAFSA by March 1 each year, or earlier if required by your school. You must also continue to demonstrate financial need. You may be a recipient of a Part-Time Grant for a total of eight years. Your school determines renewal policies.

Return to Program Description Page​